Society of Florida Archivists Annual Business Meeting Orlando, Florida Thursday, May 8th, 2014

1. Call to Order/President's Report- President Tomaro Taylor- Tomaro Taylor welcomed all attendees to the Society of Florida Archivists 31st Annual Meeting and expressed her gratitude to the Annual Meeting Committee, the sponsors of the Annual Meeting and the Board. Tomaro mentioned that a new website is coming soon.

2. Secretary/Minutes- Gail Donovan- Gail Donovan made a recommendation to table the approval of last year's business meeting minutes.

3. Treasurer's Report- Kathy Turner Thompson- Kathy Turner Thompson reported that the Treasurer's Report is included in the meeting packet for members to review. She commented that it has been a pleasure working with everyone in the SFA organization.

4. Vice-President's Report- Sandra Varry- Sandra Varry thanked everyone on the Board, the Committees and the membership. She also mentioned that there would be an Archives Month Committee this year.

5. Director's Report- Katherine Fleming and Erin Mahaney- The Directors thanked the Annual Meeting committee, the Board, the Sponsors and the members.

- 6. Committees:
 - Local Arrangements- Wenxian Zhang stated that Sandra Varry would send out a link to the survey for the annual meeting the following week.
 - Award of Excellence- Susan Swiatosz- The award is given annually to those members, who have contributed significantly to the profession. The first award was given to Kathy T. Thompson for her contributions as Treasurer for SFA. The second award was made to Janet de Vries for her role as president of the Boynton Beach Historical Society and for publishing Pioneering Palm Beach..
 - A certificate of recognition was given to Mary Flekke for contributions in the Membership Committee and her outstanding service to SFA in the past.
 - Judith Beale Scholarships- The Committee members, Natalie Baur, Angelina Altobellis, Stephanie Antequino and chair, Erin Santana made awards to Hannah Davis, Amanda Marino, and Angiemarie Villafañe.
 - Nominating- Michael Zaidman- Michael Zaidman, Laura Capell, Amanda Gonzalez and Koichi Tasa worked to distribute the ballots using Survey Monkey. The results of the voting are: Sandra Varry, President; Bill Modrow, Vice-President; Ben DiBiase, Treasurer and Susan Swiatosz, Director. A motion was made by Wenxian Zhang to destroy the ballots and seconded by John Nemmers.
 - Membership- Mary Flekke and Garret Kremer-Wright- Mary Flekke reported there were 286 members and she encouraged members to extend invitations to other archival colleagues to join SFA. The post office box will be moving to Orlando after October. Mary thanked everyone in the organization. Garret Kremer-Wright, who is now the chair of the Membership committee thanked Mary and the members for sending in their registration forms and noted that there were over 75 attending. He reminded everyone to submit their membership dues.

- Web Communications- Burt Altman- Burt Altman thanked Sonia Lorenz for her work on updating the website. Burt mentioned that Wild Apricot would be used for everything including the newsletter in the future. He thanked Krystal Thomas for her diligent work on the website and setting up PayPal. He reminded everyone that the website has come a long way and now has a presence on Facebook and LinkedIn. Burt noted that the photographs and presentations from the annual meeting would become available on the website.
- Newsletter- Janet de Vries and Marissa Kings- Janet mentioned that the newsletter has been an avenue to get to know the membership and at this time she is passing the baton to Marissa. She encouraged members to continue to send in their stories. Marissa thanked everyone.

Old Business- There was no old business.

New Business- Tomaro Taylor reported that the annual meeting for 2015 will be in Miami and hosted by Althea Silvera, of FIU, Becky Smith, of History Miami, and Beatrice Skokan, of UM Special Collections. Althea Silvera mentioned that the 100th anniversary of the Tamiami Trail would be included in the theme for meeting. Tomaro noted that the 2016 meeting is tentatively scheduled for Lakeland, Florida.

Sandra Varry presented Tomaro Taylor with a gift for her service on the Board. Tomaro Taylor thanked everyone and the 2014 Annual Meeting adjourned.