Society of Florida Archivists Annual Business Meeting – Flagler College Ringhaver Center May 5, 2011 @ 11:21 pm

SFA Annual Meeting, Flagler College, May 5, 2011

Board Members Present: Mike Zaidman, Tomaro Taylor, Kathy Turner Thompson, Flo Turcotte, William Modrow, Burt Altman, and John Nemmers. Absent: Beatrice Skokan, Mary Flekke.

- 1. Call to Order/President Report Mike Zaidman Mike introduced the board members present.
- 2. Secretary/Acceptance of Minutes Beatrice Skokan Secretary Beatrice Skokan was absent, and the April 12 minutes were not yet available. Flo Turcotte has volunteered to take the minutes for this meeting.
- 3. Treasurer's Report Kathy Turner Thompson None submitted.
- 4. Vice President's Report Tomaro Taylor Tomaro attended the ARMA meeting in April per Mike's request, in order to solicit new members.

5. Directors' Report - Flo Turcotte and Bill Modrow

Flo welcomed new members and first-time meeting attendees and asked them to contact members of the Board if they need advice or assistance re: SAA attendance. Bill thanked the corporate sponsors of our meeting, Crowley and Hollinger/Metal Edge.

6. Committees

a. Annual Meeting - Christine Wysocki

Christine thanked Liz Dunham, Tomaro Taylor and Flo Turcotte for their assistance in planning for the Annual Meeting.

b. Judith Beale Scholarship - Bill Modrow

Bill began by recognizing Erin Santana of The Jim Moran Foundation for her assistance with the selection of the scholarship awardees. Bill gave out certificates to the following:

Adrienne Serra, FSU Hadi Sheikhnia, FSU Kim Tinnell, UF Ben Yadon, FSU Erika Yagodzinski, Lynn University Tyeler McLean, FSU

c. Nominations Committee - Katherine Fleming

Society of Florida Archivists Annual Business Meeting – Flagler College Ringhaver Center May 5, 2011 @ 11:21 pm

Katherine began by recognizing the other members of the Nomination Committee: Burt Altman, Koichi Tasa, and Laura Cappell. Election results: 51 ballots were cast, one was voided due to double voting. Mike Zaidman was elected President, Tomaro Taylor, VP, and Flo Turcotte, Director.

d. Awards - Leslie Siegel

Leslie thanked Boyd Murphree and Burt Altman for their guidance in selecting the award winner. She announced this year's recipient of the Award of Excellence, John Nemmers.

e. Membership Committee – John Nemmers gave the report in the absence of Mary Flekke. There are 177 registered members. The board has decided to implement the Wild Apricot membership database.

7. Old Business –none.

8. New Business – Mike Zaidman

2012 Annual Meeting will be held in Fort Myers. Sandra Varry volunteered to help with arrangements.

2013 Annual 30th Anniversary Meeting will be held in Tallahassee.

2014 Annual Meeting is still open to suggestions. Wenxian Zhang will look into the possibility of holding the meeting in Winter Park.

9. Announcements

Burt Altman announced that the *Connecting to Collections* implementation grant was approved by IMLS. He also announced that attendees of the SAA conference in Chicago this summer should look for the SFA office hours as they are announced. Burt also solicited photos from the Annual Meeting and other SFA-related events for the SFA website. Presenters should also send Powerpoint presentations to him and he will post them, since there is plenty of space on the server.

Flo asked first-time SAA attendees to contact SFA board members for orientation and to connect to a possible Florida meetup in Chicago.

A motion was passed to destroy the ballots from the election.

Meeting adjourned at 11:42 am.